top of page
  • Writer's pictureM Shamsideen

Lydia: Possibilities Don't End With Aging

Updated: Mar 17, 2023



Lydia: Living Ageless


Residence: Born in San Francisco; moved to the Bronx, NY at two years old; now resides in Harlem, NY


Age: 48 years young [note: original post - 2014]

Children: None. One Dog: Marley


Creative Interests: Art and crafts, scrapbooks, cards, crochet


Former Profession: Tour Management for promotional tours; Marketing Atlantic A& M, Electra


Current Profession: Certified Holistic Health Coach, Certified Meditation Teacher, Author


 

For many the music business is considered a glamorous profession. What prompted you to leave?

I left the music business because I felt that I needed something more in my life that felt fulfilling to me. I love, love, love music, and my time in the industry was amazing. However, I got to a point where I kept asking 'How am I helping my community/the world to actually BE a better place?' I wanted a career that felt more 'at home' with my Spirit/soul. And, I found that with the health & wellness industry.


We both switched career paths and graduated from the Institute for Integrative Nutrition, (IIN). What led you into Health Coaching?

I worked at Exhale Spa (New York), a luxury day spa, for almost 5 years and I supervised the front desk staff. I was in charge of staff training and assisted in the day to day operations. Running a business helped me think outside the box. I kind of fell into Health Coaching. Working at a day spa, I was already a part of the health and wellness industry. I came upon this ad for the Institute for Integrative Nutrition, in a holistic health magazine. The ad caught my attention and I instantly felt like I needed to find out more. So I called them and enrolled immediately.


Another similarity we share is that we are both Scorpios and have the number one in our birth date. Mine is 11/1, yours, 11/11. I love that your birthdate contains have two Master Numbers (11). That is a powerful number for a powerful sign, especially if one is conscious of that strength. How does that show up in your health coaching?

When I turned 40 years old I came to the awareness of my 'Scorpio-ness'. At times I would tap into the energy of people so deeply, it would leave me drained. I have since learned to ground myself before a session through silence and meditation. I’ve learned it’s best to be quiet and project positive energy towards my clients.


What part does that play into your coaching?

It allows me to release judgment. Letting go of the need to tell someone, “You need to do this or you should do that." Without the judgment, there is no need to be the ‘expert’. I can focus on sending love. My mission is to help them rise, to see things differently. To meet them where they are and to love them up.


I often use the term "midlife". However, we don't really know when we are at midlife. That means there is a specific age at which we die. Where are you at this stage of life (47)? What does being 47 mean to you?

The 40s are wonderful! Relatives told me it was, but now I'm experiencing it. I’m officially grown. I don’t think about my age. It’s just a number.


Conventional thinking, especially for women, is that getting older is to dreadful. Who instilled an appreciation for aging in you?

My mother was a huge influence. When I turned 40, she jokingly told me it was downhill from there. Not in the conventional meaning, as if we’re useless, over the hill. More like, it gets even better. Life becomes clearer. When my mom was in her 50s, one day she told my sister and I that she was going to become a Real Estate Agent. She and my sister enrolled in a Real Estate Course and she obtained her license. She never used it, but she DID IT! It set the tone that anything was possible; that there wasn't a deadline that things had to be accomplished by.



"Possibilities don't end with aging.

This is who I am. A 48 year old woman. I embrace it. I am more aware, reflective. I blame less, forgive more. There is comfort in that. I have some aches and pains like most people - lower back issues, some joint issues - - all relating to just getting older (smile). I alleviate the discomfort with yoga; helps me a GREAT deal.


What would you say to your 27 year old self?

That you truly begin to know yourself in your 40s. I have no desire to be 28 again. At that time I was still confused and not yet ready to embrace certain things. This age is great. There is no need to apologize.


Relationships

I have better relationships overall. When it comes to men, I don’t believe there is a shortage. I do think the kind of man I’m looking for is not as easy to find. There’s not a lack of men that are available, there is a lack of men that I’m attracted to; mature, true gentlemen, confident.


What are your self care rituals?

My primary rituals are prayer and meditation. I also practice Reiki (Energy Healing Modality) and use it on myself.


What quote, scripture or saying inspires you?

I am a Christian and my favorite scripture are: I Corinthians 13, Psalm 27 and 1 Chronicles 4:10.


What is your favorite book and why?

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho is one of my favorite books because the story itself is very simplistic but so profound and deep. I love that about the book! It speaks to my soul. It's such an incredibly sweet story.



What is your latest project?

I established the HEALTHY NEW ME HOLIDAY WELLNESS EXPO, that I hold twice a year; at the top of the year and during the holiday season. We have healthy food, chair massages, vendors, fitness. It gives attendees a well rounded glimpse into the wellness lifestyle. This is my second; the first was extremely successful.


To Contact Lydia:


Be Inspired! Get a copy of my new book:


6 views0 comments
bottom of page